Ohio Presidents: A Whig and Seven Republicans

By Dale Thomas


Out of stock


Eight presidents have roots in Ohio, where today these communities take pride in their heritage. William Henry Harrison, a Whig, served the shortest period of time as any president, but his legacy is the campaign strategy of 1840. Northern Whigs formed the Republican Party in 1854. After the Civil War, Ohio became a swing state for the party in presidential elections.

About the Author
Dale Thomas is the archivist for the Olmsted Historical Society in North Olmsted, Ohio. He is a retired teacher with a BS from Kent State University and a MA from Case Western Reserve University. He served as a judge for History Day at Case Western Reserve University, tour advisor at the Western Reserve Historical Society, and historian for the Cleveland Civil War Roundtable. He has written five books.

Product Description
Publisher : America Through Time (March 25, 2019)
Language : English
Paperback : 128 pages
ISBN : 978-1634991162
Item Weight : 13.6 ounces
Dimensions : 6.5 x .5 x 9.25 inches

Additional information

Weight 13.6 oz
Dimensions 6.5 × .5 × 9.25 in